Niu Valley Middle School

An International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme World School



What is the IB Middle Years Programme?

The International Baccalaureate is a not for profit international educational foundation. Founded in 1968 and headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, it has since educated over 1 million students. There are currently 3,521 IB schools, offering a total of 4,377 programmes in 144 countries.

The IB offers four educational programmes across the world. Central to the IB is the concept of education as a lifelong process.

IB programmes have a reputation for:

  • maintaining high academic standards
  • arming students with life skills and preparing them for life in a globalized world
  • developing young people who are active, knowledgeable and caring, and prepared for life in a global society
Quality Assurance and Professional Development

Any school, or group of schools, wishing to offer one or more International Baccalaureate programmes as an IB World School must first be authorized. The requirements are the same for all schools, and the procedure is designed to ensure that schools are well prepared to implement the programme(s) successfully. All IB World Schools are required to participate in an ongoing process of review and development, using the same programme standards and practices. As part of its ongoing commitment to the development of a highly skilled global learning community, the IB provides a wide range of high-quality professional development opportunities to help new, experienced and expert school leaders and educators understand, support, and successfully deliver IB programmes reflecting IB standards and practices.


IB programmes prepare a person to be successful in school and to be active, lifelong learners through four programs that emphasize intellectual, personal, emotional and social growth.

Primary Years Programme (ages 3-12)

Students aged 3 to 12 cover language, social studies, mathematics, arts, science and personal, social and physical education. These subjects are taught by addressing six transdisciplinary themes that answer the following questions: Who we are; Where we are in place and time; How we express ourselves; How the world works; How we organize ourselves; Sharing the planet.

Middle Years Programme (ages 11-16)

Students aged 11 to 16 study eight subject areas; their mother tongue, a second language, humanities, sciences, mathematics, arts, physical education and technology. In their final year, students undertake a personal project where they demonstrate the understandings and skills developed throughout the programme.

Teachers organize the curriculum through five areas of interaction, delivering a holistic learning experience; approaches to learning, community and service, human ingenuity, environments and health and social education.

The IB Diploma Programme (ages 16-19)

Six subjects: five chosen from five groups (literature in the student’s native language, a foreign language, a science, mathematics, a humanity or social science) plus an art or another choice from groups 1-5.

In addition to these subjects, all students complete three core requirements that are included to challenge and to broaden the educational experience:

  • The Extended Essay(4,000 words) requiring independent research related to a subject of their choice
  • Theory of Knowledge which encompasses
    1. critically examining different ways of knowing -- perception, emotion, language and reason and,
    2. examining the different kinds of knowledge scientific, artistic, mathematical and historical
  • The creativity, action, service(CAS) component which requires students to engage in 1) arts activities and demonstrating creativity, 2) taking action by participating in sports (team and individual), local and international projects and expeditions and 3) participating in community and social service activities.

Students are expected to be involved in CAS activities for the equivalent of at least three hours each week during the two years of the programme.

The International Baccalaureate Career-related Certificate (IBCC) (ages 16-19) The newest qualification combines two “academic” IB subjects with an existing career-related course. It also includes core components: approaches to learning, community and service, foreign language development, and the Reflective Project.

Implementing the Middle Years Programme (MYP) at Niu Valley Middle School

This is the framework model of the Middle Years Programme, implemented at Niu Valley Middle School:

IB Program

The IB Middle Years Programme consists of eight subject groups integrated through five interactive areas providing global contexts for learning. Students are required to study at least two languages (as part of their multilingual profile), humanities, sciences, mathematics, arts, physical education and technology. In their final year, students will also undertake an independent ‘personal project’ to demonstrate the development of their skills and understanding.

MYP assessment standards are consistent around the world. In order to maintain the rigour for which the IB is renowned, the MYP assessment model is criterion-related. Teachers structure varied and valid assessment tasks so that students can demonstrate achievement according to objectives defined by the IB. Tasks are assessed against established criteria, not against the work of other students.

For more information about the International Baccalaureate, visit their website: